

Orissa Municipal Councils (Reduction Of Term Of Office) Act, 1990

13 of 1990

[30 June 1990]

CONTENTS

- 1. Short Title
- 2. Definitions
- 3. Reduction Of Term Of Office
- 4. Consequences Of Reduction Of Term Of Office

SCHEDULE 1 :- <u>SCHEDULE I</u>

Orissa Municipal Councils (Reduction Of Term Of Office) Act, 1990

13 of 1990

[30 June 1990]

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE REDUCTION OF THERM OF OFFICE OF CERTAIN MUNICIPAL COUNCILS AND NOTIFIED AREA COUNCILS OF THE STATE AND FOR MATTERS INCIDENTAL THERETO. BE itenacted by the Legislature of the State of Orissa in the Forty-first Year of the Republic of India, as follows:- For the Bill, see Orissa Gazette, Extraordinary dated the 1st June 1990 (No. 709)

1. Short Title :-

This Act may be called the Orissa Municipal Councils (Reduction of Term of Office) Act, 1990.

2. Definitions :-

In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires,-

(a) "Municipal Act" means the Orissa Municipal Act, 1950(Orissa Act 23 of 1950);

(b) "Municipal Council" means a Municipal constituted under the Municipal Act and shall include a Notified Area Council Constituted there under.

(c) words and expressions used in this Act, but not defined herein, shall have the same meaning as assigned to them respectively under the Municipal Act.

3. Reduction Of Term Of Office :-

Notwithstanding anything contained in the Municipal Act, the State Government may, by notification, direct that the term of office of the Councilors of the Municipal Councils of the State as specified in the Schedule be reduced by such period as they deem fit.

4. Consequences Of Reduction Of Term Of Office :-

Upon reduction of the term of office of the Councilors of the Municipal Councils by a direction issued under section 3,

(a) the provisions contained in sub-section (4) of section 41 of the Municipal Act shall apply to the said Municipal Councils with effect from the date of expiry of the term of office of the Councillors thereof;

(b) the election of the Chairman and Councillors for reconstitution of the said Municipal Councils shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the Municipal Act on such date, not being later than the 31st day of December, 1990 as the State Government may, by notification, direct;

(c) the Municipal Councils so reconstituted shall, for all purposes, be deemed to have been constituted under, and the governed by, the provisions of the Municipal Act and the Rules made there under.

<u>SCHEDULE 1</u> SCHEDULE I (See section 3)

	Name of the District		Name of the Municipal Council
1.	Cuttack		1. Banki Notified Area Council
			2. Pattamundai Notified Area Council
2.	Puri		3. Puri Municipal Council
			4. Khandapara Notified Area Council
3.	Balasore		5. Jaleswar Notified Area Council
			6. Bhadrak Municipal Council
			7. Nilgiri Notified Area Council
4.	Sambalpur		8. Brajarajnagar Municipal Council
	· · · ·	1	9- Barpali Notified Area Council

5.	Keonjhar		10. Barbil Municipal Council
			11. Joda Notified Area Council
6.	Balangir		12. Balangir, Municipal Council
			13. Patnagarh Notified Area Council
7.	Sundargarh		14. Rourkela Municipal Council
8.	Ganjam		15. Chatrapur Notified Area Council
			16. Kabisuryanagar Notified Area Council
			17. Aska Notified Area Council
			18. Ganjam Notified Area Council
9.	Koraput		19. Jeypur Municipal Council
			20. Gunupur Notified Area Council
10.	Mayurbhanj		21. Baripada Municipal Council